DUI Lawyer – Orlando, Florida
Have you or a loved one been charged with driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol in Orlando? If so, the best option for you is to speak with an Attorney that can help you to figure out the best way to protect your rights and reduce possible penalties for you.
Contact us or call 407-915-0715 to find out how we can help with your case.
DUI Law and Penalties in Florida
Florida law states that driving under the influence is proven by impairment of normal faculties, or the existence of an unlawful blood alcohol level of .08 or higher. While a DUI doesn’t carry with it a different penalty or conviction, the number of DUIs does change the penalties.
If you have been convicted and it’s your first time having it happen, there are a few unique penalties that exist for you. Firstly, you can expect to see anywhere between $500 and $1,000 in fines, and this number can grow to $1,000 to $2,000 if your blood alcohol level (BAL) is above .15. You will be required to perform fifty hours of community service, and possibly pay an additional $10 per hour of community service required. Probation is another penalty to your first DUI, and it can last up to one year including the time spent incarcerated. Imprisonment time can last up to six months, and this time can increase depending on your BAL at time of arrest. In addition, your license will be revoked from anywhere between 180 days to a year. If you need help with your first time DUI, be sure to read our first time DUI frequently asked questions.
As with most crimes, a second instance typically carries with it larger penalties. This is still the case with DUI, and they can in fact carry higher punishments if you were arrested within five years of your former charge. Fines increase to $1,000 to $2,000 and in the instance of a BAL of over .15 this can be $2,000 to $4,000. You can also expect up to nine months imprisonment, and up to one year with .15 or higher. If the conviction was within five years of your last, the license revocation can last up to five years, and you will be eligible for reinstatement after one year.
If ten years has passed from your second driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, fines will be anywhere from $2,000 to $5,000. And as with the earlier level DUIs, a BAL of over .15 will carry with it a fine of no less than $4,000. You will be required to have thirty days imprisonment if you were convicted within ten years of your last, and it can last up to one year. Your driver’s license will be revoked for a minimum of ten years, but you will be eligible for reinstatement after two.
Fourth Charge and Above
After four charges, there are strict penalties that no person would want on their record. You will face a minimum of a $2,000 fine, as well as imprisonment of up to five years. Perhaps the most damaging of penalties exists in the realm of your driver’s license, as it will be required to be permanently revoked without the allowance for reinstatement.
You might have heard of the terms DWI, or DWAI in reference to DUI, and while on the surface there’s not much that changes between them, there is a substantial difference in what sort of punishments each of those acronyms carry. In the State of Florida, they are all viewed as different crimes, and therefore creating a defense changes as well. Regardless if what you’ve been charged with Driving Under the Influence, Driving While Intoxicated, or Driving While Ability Impaired, there’s always a chance that you will have a reduced sentencing, or an outright acquittal. If you have other questions regarding the meanings of each type of drunk driving, or just general inquiries, we’re here to help.
Grozigner Law, P.A. is home to very highly skilled lawyer that can take a look at your case in great depth, and ultimately create the best route possible to defend against your charges. Once the best method has been found, we work to make your charges lessened with much more lenient penalties, and we may even have your charges completely dismissed. There are unique aspects that can go into building your case which will make each defense different than the last.
- Do you have a history?
- Were you operating under a suspended or revoked license?
- Did any property or persons come to harm at the time of your arrest?
- What is the strength of evidence against you?
As we take these questions into consideration, we can proceed under the proper direction. Every case is different, and this means that a particular amount of care must be taken in order to present you with the best outcome. We ultimately want to keep you out of jail, so having the answers to these questions can help us to determine whether you’re facing serious charges or not.
Patrick Grozinger is here for you, so do not hesitate to contact him today. We can help you with your case regardless of the number of DUIs that you’ve faced. Our experience can prevent you from getting the unwelcomed blemish of a DUI on your permanent record. You aren’t in this alone, and we want you to know we highly advise trying so. Let us fight for you.